.38 vs 9mm

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• .38 vs 9mm

I'm far from a gun expert, I own, shot from time to time but don't collect or go deep in my research of guns. To me, if I can point it, shoot it and it does what it was designed to do reliably, it's all I need.

That said, I have "friends" that think they are gun experts (self proclaimed), they often make fun of the .38 I own. granted it's no .45 but it's also not a .22. If everything I know is right a .38 is a larger round then a 9mm, so why does a 9mm get love and a .38 gets guff? Is it because it's an "old" round, I just don't understand it.

Please explain the lack of love for the .38 vs the 9 mm. Thanks in advance
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties either expressed, written or implied and confers no rights.
    You assume all risk for your use. The author is not responsible for your inability to understand logic, ambiguous references, sarcasm, the imaginary friends living inside my head or William Shatner's acting ability.

22lr aint shabby

Comment

I'm no gun expert either, but I'll give it a shot (heh):

9mm round generates 632 joules of energy.

.38spl +P generates 256 joules of energy.

Energy delivered is what causes damage. For the record, I don't want to catch either of them.

Comment

We own .22, .25, .32,and .38. All handguns my wife can handle, the first 3 are semi auto the .38 is a revolver with a 3" barrel.

I love the smaller stuff and will use it if needed, penetration alone isn't the only factor, I do know you want force behind the hit and you want the bullet to do as much damage as possible, not just go through and through.
        Last edited by LFBB; 11-20-2021, 04:46 PM.
        This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties either expressed, written or implied and confers no rights.